Skye Boat Song – Theater het Kielzog

Während der Corona-Sperre gaben wir ein einzigartiges Konzert für Kuscheltiere von Caden Myles, dem Sohn von David Myles, im Kielzog-Theater in Hoogezand. Leider war unser Geiger während dieses Livestreams krank und für uns war es etwas gewöhnungsbedürftig, ein Konzert ohne Publikum zu geben.

Skye Boat Song

Eine alte schottische Nationalhymne. Die Melodie stammt aus dem Jahr 1870 und der Text, den wir singen, stammt aus dem Jahr 1892 und wurde von Robert Louis Stevenson geschrieben. Seit der Hitserie ‘Outlander’ ist sie noch beliebter geworden und wir lieben immer die Reaktion des Publikums, wenn es die ersten Noten erkennt.

Hintergrundinformation

Der erste Kontakt mit dem Lied war 1995, als David Myles es im Dudelsackunterricht üben musste. Eine alte Tradition, die bereits von mehreren Künstlern gesungen wurde. David wollte The Skye Boat Song innerhalb der Band spielen und überredete die anderen Mitglieder, kurz vor einer Aufführung mitzuspielen, nachdem William die Texte im Kopf hatte. Dieb hatte die Idee, den Song stattdessen auf Uilleanpipes zu spielen der schottischen Dudelsäcke und eine Struktur wurde entwickelt. Eine Stunde später wurde “The Skye Boat Song” der Öffentlichkeit vorgestellt und es bleibt einer unserer Favoriten. Sogar das Cover der CD “Scotlands Story” basiert darauf.

Das Lied handelt von der Reise von Prinz Charles Edward Stuart (Bonnie Prince Charlie) von Benbecula zur Isle of Skye während einer Flucht nach seiner Niederlage in der Schlacht von Culloden im Jahr 1746.

In Stevensons Version geht es mehr um die inneren Gefühle des besiegten Prinzen. Ehrgeiz und Optimismus wurden durch ein Gefühl des müden Verlustes ersetzt.

Sir Harold Edwin Boultons ursprüngliches Lied aus dem Jahr 1870 endet mit einem Gefühl des heldenhaften Versagens und einem romantischen Ausdruck des zukünftigen Sieges. Stevensons Ende ist jedoch ergreifend und realistisch. In dem Lied merkt er, dass er alles verloren hat, sogar seine eigene Identität: “Alles, was ich war, ist weg.” Der “Junge”, der er einmal war, ist weg und wird niemals zurückkehren.

Text

[Chorus]

Sing me a song of a lad that is gone,
Say, could that lad be I?
Merry of soul he sailed on a day
Over the sea to Skye.

Mull was astern, Rum on the port,
Eigg on the starboard bow;
Glory of youth glowed in his soul;
Where is that glory now?

[Chorus]

Give me again all that was there,
Give me the sun that shone!
Give me the eyes, give me the soul,
Give me the lad that’s gone!

[Chorus]

Billow and breeze, islands and seas,
Mountains of rain and sun,
All that was good, all that was fair,
All that was me is gone.

Kaufen Sie dieses Album jetzt

Use your name

Please enter a valid email address.
Please enter your name.

Share

Skye Boat Song – Theater het Kielzog

Share

During the corona lockdown we gave a unique concert for stuffed animal toys from Caden Myles, the son of David Myles in the Kielzog theater in Hoogezand. Unfortunately our violinist was ill during this livestream and for us it took some getting used to giving a concert without an audience.

The Skye Boat Song

An old Scottish national anthem. The melody dates from 1870 and the text we sing is from 1892, written by Robert Louis Stevenson. Since the hit series ‘Outlander’ it became even more popular and we always love the reaction of the audience when they recognise the first notes.

Background information

The first contact with the song was back in 1995 when David Myles had to practice it in bagpipe class. An old traditional that has already been sung by several artists. David wanted to play The Skye Boat Song within the band and persuaded the other members to play along, shortly before a performance after William had the lyrics in his head, Dieb came up with the idea to play the song on Uilleanpipes instead of the Scottish bagpipes and a structure was devised. An hour later “The Skye Boat Song” was presented to the public and it remains one of our favorites. Even the front cover of the CD “Scotlands Story” is based on this.

The song is about Prince Charles Edward Stuart (Bonnie Prince Charlie) ‘s journey from Benbecula to the Isle of Skye during an escape after his defeat at the Battle of Culloden in 1746.

Stevenson’s version is more about the inner feelings of the defeated prince. Ambition and optimism have been replaced by a feeling of tired loss.

Sir Harold Edwin Boulton’s original 1870 song ends with a sense of heroic failure and a romantic expression of future victory. Stevenson’s ending, however, is poignant and realistic. In the song, he realizes that he has lost everything, even his own identity: “All I was is gone.” The “boy” he once was is gone and will never return.

Lyrics

[Chorus]

Sing me a song of a lad that is gone,
Say, could that lad be I?
Merry of soul he sailed on a day
Over the sea to Skye.

Mull was astern, Rum on the port,
Eigg on the starboard bow;
Glory of youth glowed in his soul;
Where is that glory now?

[Chorus]

Give me again all that was there,
Give me the sun that shone!
Give me the eyes, give me the soul,
Give me the lad that’s gone!

[Chorus]

Billow and breeze, islands and seas,
Mountains of rain and sun,
All that was good, all that was fair,
All that was me is gone.

Buy this album now

Connect with

Facebook Twitter Google+ LinkedIn
OR

Use your name

Please enter a valid email address.
Please enter your name.